The Piece You Never Take Off

That’s my moon necklace, in a photo by Jonah Siegel. It’s not really sentimental in any way, and moons don’t have significant meaning for me. So why do I never take it off? I sleep with this necklace on, I swim with it, I shower with it, I put other necklaces on top of it. Most days I forget I even have it on.

But there is something inherently personal about never taking something off, of adding on to your body, a little like a tattoo or a piercing. A necklace that grows with you organically, becoming shorter while you become taller. A bracelet that becomes a darker shade of pink every time you get it dirty weeding in the garden. A pair of earrings that never get tangled in your hair while someone pulls your overgrown bangs away from your eyes.

These are what make fashion a part of our lives and feature in our memories. And even if, at the end of the day, you take off all of your jewelry, those will never leave.

xoxo,

Maia

One thought on “The Piece You Never Take Off

Leave a Reply

